Follow Us On:
San Diego Education Fund Board of Directors 2017-2018


Susan Hoekenga, MPA

Vice President

Cynthia Avery, Ed.D., Assistant Vice President, USD Office of Student Affairs

Treasurer & Chair of Finance Committee

Steve Nunez, Esquire, Attorney, Ward & Hagen LLP


Acacia E. Thede, Executive Director, Human Resource. San Diego Unified School District

Immediate Past President

Sharon D. Whitehurst, Ph.D., Retired Certificated Staffing Administrator, SDUSD; Adjunct Faculty, College of Education-CSUSM

Immediate Past President
Sharon D. Whitehurst, Ph.D., Retired Certificated Staffing Administrator, SDUSD; Adjunct Faculty, College of Education-CSUSM


Board Members

Barbara Brown, Community Volunteer

Christina Conley, Teacher, Rosa Parks Elementary

Monica Grande, Special Education Early Childhood Specialist, Cherokee Point Elementary School

Mary Johnson, Community Volunteer

Rebecca Phillpott, Education Policy and Program Development Consultant

Carlos Ramirez, Vice Principal, Herbert Hoover High School

Teresa Warren, Communications Committee, SDEF; Owner & President, TW2 Marketing, Inc.


Mary Castleberry M.A., Educational Consultant

Nancy Smith, MSW, Teamsmith Resource Development


Tina Tran, Accounting Support Assistant, San Diego Unified School District